I am honoured to have been nominated for the Patchwork Foundation’s MP of the Year award.

The award celebrates the work done by Members of Parliament, from all parties in the House of Commons, who are seen as champions of inclusion and diversity in politics, and who foster participation of under-represented groups in government.


The Patchwork Foundation (http://www.patchworkfoundation.org.uk/) itself does incredibly important work supporting engagement in under-represented and minority communities across Britain, and I am thrilled to be recognised, alongside many other deserving MPs, by an institution addressing issues of such significance to our democracy.

I have been recognised with this nomination for a number of pieces of work, outside of what goes on in the House of Commons, which I have undertaken over the last year:

  1. Firstly, recognising my PrePay Rip Off campaign, which highlights the impact prepayment meters have on some of the most poor and disadvantaged households in the country, personally taking action to tackle this injustice. 

    The campaign has resulted in huge victories, after personally lobbying the Competition and Market Authority into implementing a price cap which will now see 4 million homes saving on average £75 a year on their energy bills.

  2. Secondly, I have helped to re-establish Bernie’s List, a group set up to address issues surrounding the under-representation of the African-Caribbean community in politics and more particularly in the Labour Party.
  3. Thirdly, my work around opening up Parliament to Brent. I’ve done this in a few ways; giving valuable experience working in both my offices in the constituency and parliament to local residents, working with schools and their work ready programmes to help provide young adults the opportunities to get the skills needed for full time employment and offering school student councils the opportunity to hold one of their regular meetings in Parliament with me.

If you would like to vote in support of me, you may do so by following the link below. The award winners will be announced at the MP of the Year Awards on Wednesday 2nd¬†November 2016, which will be hosted by the Speaker of the House of Commons at the Speaker’s House.


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search